Phoenix DUI Attorneys

Phoenix DUI Attorney

DUI Attorneys Serving Arizona

Driving under the influence of alcohol is taken very seriously in Phoenix and throughout the state of Arizona. A DUI conviction can have long-term impacts on an individual, as they will be faced with significant consequences, including a license suspension, ignition interlock requirements, alcohol screening/counseling, fines and jail time. If you have been charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Arizona, it is important to retain the services of an experienced DUI defense attorney. Weintraub & Weintraub has decades of experience exploring all possible defenses and protecting the interests of our clients who have been charged with a DUI or the following:

Whether it is your first DUI offense or you already have multiple convictions on your record, you can rely on the legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub for strong DUI defense when it matters most. Our firm can help answer questions including:

Whether you are a resident of Arizona or were visiting from another state, we can help. Contact our firm today to discuss your situation.

DUI Laws in Arizona

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is unlawful in the state of Arizona. Those who violate these laws will be held accountable for their actions. When you get your driver’s license in Arizona, you are subject to the Implied Consent Law. This means that you are automatically consenting to take a test that determines your blood alcohol concentration or your blood alcohol drug content when you are arrested for a DUI. A law enforcement officer will request that you submit to blood alcohol or drug concentration test if they have reason to believe that you are operating a motor vehicle under the influence. If you refuse to submit to a blood concentration test, you are automatically subject to a license revocation for 12 months. If you refuse to submit to a test for a second time within 84 months, you will automatically be subject to a loss of driving privileges for 24 months. If you consent to the requested test and your blood alcohol concentration is above a .08 or you have any illegal drug in your system, your driving privileges will be suspended for 90 days.  You may be eligible for a work restricted permit after completing 30 days of the suspension.

First Offense DUI in Arizona

If you have been arrested for a first offense driving under the influence charge, you will be subject to a number of serious penalties, if convicted. Below penalties are for driving while impaired, blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher and DUI drugs charges. Commercial drivers can be charged with a DUI if they are driving a commercial vehicle and have a blood alcohol content of 0.04 percent.

The minimum sentence you can face includes the following penalties:

  • Between 1 and 10 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • A $250 fine plus surcharges
  • $500 Prison Construction Fee
  • $500 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • No probation
  • 90 days to 1 year of suspended driving privileges
  • 6 to 12 months of an Ignition Interlock Device

The maximum sentence you can face includes the following penalties:

  • 180 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • A $2500 fine plus surcharges
  • $500 Prison Construction Fee
  • $500 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 5 years probation
  • 90 days to 1 year of suspended driving privileges
  • More than one year of an Ignition Interlock Device

Second or Subsequent Offense DUI in Arizona

If you already have been convicted of driving under the influence charges within the last 84 months and are charged with a second or subsequent offense, it is important to understand the magnitude of penalties you are facing. Penalties for a second or subsequent DUI are much more significant than the already-serious penalties of a first DUI offense.

The minimum sentence includes the following penalties:

  • Between 30 and 90 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $500 fine plus surcharges
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • No probation
  • 1 year of suspended driving privileges
  • 1 year with an Ignition Interlock Device

The maximum sentence includes the following penalties:

  • 180 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $2500 fine plus surcharges
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 5 years probation
  • 1 year of suspended driving privileges
  • More than 1 year with an Ignition Interlock Device

Extreme DUI in Arizona

If your blood alcohol content is between 0.150 percent and 0.199 percent at the time of your arrest, you will be subject to an Extreme DUI charge, which are accompanied by far more serious penalties. It is important to be aware that Arizona also has what is known as a Super Extreme DUI. This charge is issued to individuals who are found driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.20 or higher. Of course, the individuals who commit this offense will face the most serious misdemeanor penalties.

Aggravated DUI in Arizona

Aggravated DUIs in Arizona are very serious matters that can be applicable to a number of different situations, including:

  • Committing a DUI while your license is suspended, revoked, or canceled
  • Committing a third DUI within a period of 84 months
  • Committing a DUI while a person who is under the age of 15 is in the vehicle
  • Commits a DUI while required to use an ignition interlock device
  • Commits a DUI while driving the wrong way on a highway

What is an ignition interlock device?

If you are convicted of a DUI, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle or in any of the vehicles you may operate, it is important to understand what this means. An ignition interlock device requires a driver to take a chemical breath test before trying to start their car. If the driver’s BAC is above the permitted level, the ignition will not start. The ignition interlock device may also require the driver to take a BAC test while driving at unpredictable times.

Drug DUI in Arizona

If you are found to be driving under the influence of any illegal drugs in Arizona, you can be charged with a DUI. Part of accepting your driving privilege includes automatically consenting to take a test for blood alcohol concentration or drug content (BADC) when asked by law enforcement to do so. This test exists to determine the amount of alcohol or drugs present in your bloodstream at the time of your arrest.

Contact a Phoenix DUI Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Phoenix or throughout Arizona, it is important to retain legal representation that can effectively represent your interests. At Weintraub & Weintraub, we have proudly served clients facing serious DUI charges for decades. Our firm is committed to doing all that we can to lessen your penalties and look for defenses to have your case dismissed. Contact the legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub today to discuss your situation and we would be happy to help.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What is premises liability and what do I need to know?
  •  Under 21 DUI Penalties
  •  What is a Super Extreme DUI?
  •  Ignition Interlock Device