Phoenix Extreme DUI Attorneys

Phoenix Extreme DUI Attorney

Extreme DUI Attorneys Serving Arizona

If you are found driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher in Arizona, you will be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. Facing charges for driving under the influence is a serious matter that can have impacts for years down the road. Arizona has a separate type of DUI charge for a person who is found driving with a BAC between .150 and .199 percent. This high BAC will result in an Extreme DUI charge. You can also be charged with an Extreme DUI if your BAC was between the aforementioned percentages within two hours of driving a vehicle.

If you are facing an Extreme DUI charge in Phoenix, it is crucial to retain the services of an attorney that can effectively represent your rights. Weintraub & Weintraub has decades of experience fighting on behalf of clients who are faced with serious DUI charges. Contact our firm today for strong legal representation.

First Offense Extreme DUI

In the State of Arizona, you can be charged with an Extreme DUI if your BAC is .150 – .199.  This is a class one misdemeanor.  According to state law.

Arizona Revised Statute Section 28-1382 (A)(1)

It is unlawful for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle if the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.150 or more within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle.

The minimum consequences a person can face when they are convicted of a first offense Extreme DUI include:

  • 30 days in jail
  • A $250 fine plus surcharges
  • 30 days of continuous alcohol monitoring
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1000 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1000 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • No probation
  • 30 Day vehicle impoundment
  • License suspension for 90 days to 1 year
  • The installation of a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle you may operate for one year

The maximum sentence that you face includes:

  • 180 days in jail
  • 30 days of continuous alcohol monitoring
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • A $2500 Fine plus surcharges
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1000 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1000 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 5 years of probation
  • 30 Day vehicle impoundment
  • License suspension for 90 days to 1 year
  • The installation of a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle you may operate for at least one year

Second or Subsequent Offense Extreme DUI

Of course, anytime you have multiple offenses on your criminal record, the penalties for fines and jail time will increase tremendously. For a second or subsequent offense of an extreme DUI within 7 years of your most recent conviction, the minimum consequences include the following:

  • 120 days in jail
  • 90 days of continuous alcohol monitoring
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $500 fine
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • No probation
  • A driver’s license revocation for 12 months
  • Alcohol screening, education, and treatment
  • The installation of a certified ignition interlock device in any vehicle you operate for one year

The maximum sentence includes the following penalties:

  • 180 days in jail
  • 90 days of continuous alcohol monitoring
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $2500 fine
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • 5 years probation
  • A driver’s license revocation for 12 months
  • Alcohol screening, education, and treatment
  • The installation of a certified ignition interlock device in any vehicle you operate for at least one year

First Offense Super Extreme DUI

In the state of Arizona, you can be charged with a Super Extreme DUI if your BAC was 0.200 percent or higher. This is a class one misdemeanor. According to state law:

Arizona Revised Statute Section 28-1382 (A)(2)

“It is unlawful for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle if the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.200 or more within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle.”

The minimum penalties for a first offense super extreme DUI are as follows:

  • 45 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • 30 Days of Continuous Alcohol Monitoring
  • A $500 fine plus surcharges
  • $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1000 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1000 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • No probation
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • Suspension of driving privileges between 90 days and 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device for 18 months

The maximum sentence includes the following penalties:

  • 180 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • 30 Days of Continuous Alcohol Monitoring
  • A $2500 fine plus surcharges
  • $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1000 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1000 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 5 years probation
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • Suspension of driving privileges between 90 days and 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device for at least 18 months

Second Offense Super Extreme DUI

Of course, the penalties for a second offense DUI with a BAC of 0.200 or greater has even more significant penalties. The minimum consequences include the following:

  • 180 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • 90 days or more of Continuous Alcohol Monitoring
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $1000 fine plus surcharges
  • $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • No probation
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • Revocation of driving privileges for 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device for 24 months

The maximum sentence includes the following penalties:

  • 180 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • 90 days or more of Continuous Alcohol Monitoring
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $2500 fine plus surcharges
  • $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 5 years probation
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • Revocation of driving privileges for 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device for at least 24 months

Contact a Phoenix Extreme DUI Attorney

Weintraub & Weintraub understands the seriousness of an Extreme DUI charge, especially if this is not your first offense. We urge you to contact our firm for quality legal representation that is committed to protecting your future. We have the skill and tenacity to fight these charges on your behalf. If you have been charged with an Extreme DUI offense in Arizona, contact Weintraub & Weintraub today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What is premises liability and what do I need to know?
  •  Under 21 DUI Penalties
  •  What is a Super Extreme DUI?
  •  Ignition Interlock Device