Ignition Interlock Device Attorneys in Arizona
The state of Arizona takes driving under the influence of alcohol very seriously. If convicted of such a crime, you will face a number of significant penalties. One of the penalties that a DUI conviction will require is the installation of a certified ignition interlock device. These devices serve to ensure that a person who has been convicted of a DUI will not continue driving under the influence of alcohol once their driving privileges have been restored. If you are facing charges for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, it is important to consult with an experienced attorney. Contact our Phoenix DUI attorneys today.
What is an ignition interlock device?
A certified ignition interlock device is a breath-analyzing instrument that is wired to the vehicle’s ignition and installed on the vehicle dashboard, along with a camera, GPS and reporting capabilities in real time. Before the vehicle can be started, the driver first must exhale into the device. If the interlock detects alcohol on the breath, the engine will not start. The interlock measures your breath alcohol content level. The vehicle will only start if your vehicle if your breath alcohol content level is under 0.020.
At random times after the engine has been started, the device will require the driver to provide another breath sample. If it isn’t provided, or the sample exceeds a set breath alcohol content level, the device will log the event, warn the driver and then continue to request another sample until a clean breath sample has been provided. For safety reasons, the device cannot turn off the car ignition once it has been started.
The state of Arizona requires that any driver convicted of a DUI offense has an ignition interlock device installed for a certain period of time. It is important to note that if you are ordered by the court to install an ignition interlock device, you must also have the device installed throughout the period of time that your driving privileges are suspended. That being said, the time frame for the required period that you must have the device installed does not officially begin until your driving privileges have been restored.
How long am I required to have an IID installed?
The time period for which you must have an ignition interlock device installed depends on your sentence. On average, these devices are installed for one year. The breakdown of the requirements for each type of DUI is as follows:
- First offense DUI: 6 to 12 months
- Second offense DUI: 12 months
- First offense Extreme DUI: 12 months
- Second offense Extreme DUI: 12 months
- First offense Super Extreme DUI: 18 months
- Second offense Super Extreme DUI: 24 months
In the event that you fail to install the ignition interlock device and provide verification of the installation to the MVD within 30 days of being convicted, your driving privileges will be immediately suspended. Additionally, the amount of time that you have to have the device installed may be extended. You will be required to install a certified ignition interlock device in your vehicle and in any other vehicle you operate. You will be responsible for the cost of installing and maintaining the device. If you are caught driving a vehicle without an ignition interlock device, your obligation to have one installed will be extended. If you do not own a vehicle and you do not intend to operate a vehicle, your driving privileges will remain suspended. If you eventually do plan to operate a vehicle in the future, you will still have to serve your interlock device commitment. Finally, each time you fail a breath test, the possibility exists to extend your requirement by 6 months.
Arizona Department of Transportation Authorized Installers: