What should I do when I am stopped for a DUI in Arizona?

What Should I Do If I’m Stopped For a DUI in Arizona?

Phoenix DUI Attorneys Fighting DUI Charges in Arizona

If you have been stopped for being suspected of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the state of Arizona, it is important to understand the consequences you are facing. It is no surprise that one of the critical actions you can take at this point is to retain the services of an experienced DUI defense attorney. The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub is committed to exploring all options in an effort to obtain the best possible outcome in your case. If you need a strong legal defense attorney for a DUI charge, contact Weintraub & Weintraub as soon as possible.

What should I do when I am stopped for a DUI in Arizona?

If you are stopped under suspicion of driving under the influence in the state of Arizona, it is important to act wisely and not do anything that could actually end up hurting your case. A few things that you may want to keep in mind during a potential DUI stop include the following:

  • Ask to call and speak with an attorney immediately.
  • Behave politely and courteously.
  • Give officer your name, address, driver’s license, registration and proof of insurance.
  • Exercise your right to remain silent (do not answer any questions).
  • Refuse to take any field sobriety tests.
  • If you submit to an analysis of your blood, breath or urine ask for your immediate release to obtain an independent test.

What is a field sobriety test?

During any suspected DUI stop, the law enforcement officer will request that you step out of your vehicle to take a series of tests that look for indicators of your intoxication. The three tests that are often issued during a stop include the One Leg Stand, the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, and the Walk and Turn test. That being said, it is not mandatory to take a field sobriety test upon request in Arizona. Our firm and many others recommend that our clients don’t take these because it has been determined that they are often inaccurate. However, be sure not to refuse a chemical breath or blood test that tries to determine your blood alcohol content because that can come with a 12 to 24 month suspension of your right to drive in Arizona.

Consequences of a first offense DUI

If you are charged with a DUI, you may face the following penalties:

  • Between 1 and 10 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • A $250 fine plus surcharges
  • $500 Prison Construction Fee
  • $500 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • No probation
  • 90 days to 1 year of suspended driving privileges
  • 6 to 12 months of an Ignition Interlock Device

If you are facing penalties of a second or subsequent DUI, you can expect:

  • Between 30 and 90 days in jail
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $500 fine plus surcharges
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • No probation
  • 1 year of revoked driving privileges
  • 1 year with an Ignition Interlock Device

Contact a Phoenix DUI Defense Firm

Driving under the influence comes with significant penalties in Arizona. It is important to fight these charges as the repercussions can be far-reaching and long-lasting. If you have been charged with a DUI, whether it is your first or you have had several, legal representation is key. Contact Weintraub & Weintraub today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Liability in Arizona Personal Injury Cases
  •  What To Do After a Car Accident in Arizona
  •  Types of Negligence in Arizona Car Accidents
  •  Premises Liability Law in Arizona