Consequences of an Extreme DUI in Arizona

Consequences of an Extreme DUI in Arizona

Drivers can face serious consequences if they are charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). In Arizona, if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit of 0.08%, they may be charged with a DWI. A law enforcement officer can determine a person’s BAC through the use of a Breathalyzer or an Alcotest. Sometimes, a driver’s BAC is significantly higher than the legal limit. This may require the driver to receive a separate charge. If a driver is found with a BAC between .15% and .19%, they may be charged with an Extreme DUI. Penalties may intensify for those who receive an Extreme DUI charge.

First Offense

When an individual is charged with an Extreme DUI, it is considered a class one misdemeanor. There are minimum consequences an individual may face if they are convicted of their first offense. This may include:

  • 30 days in jail
  • A fine of $250
  • State surcharges
  • A suspended license for 90 days to 1 year
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1000 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1000 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • No probation

There is also a maximum sentence an individual may face for their first conviction. This may include the following:

  • 180 days in jail
  • A fine of $2500
  • State surcharges
  • A suspended license for 90 days to 1 year
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1000 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1000 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for over 1 year
  • Alcohol screening and counseling
  • 5 years probation

Second or Subsequent Offense

When an individual is charged with their second or subsequent Extreme DUI offense, the penalties may increase a great amount. If this charge is within 7 years of the original one, the minimum consequences may include:

  • 120 days in jail
  • A $500 fine
  • A revoked driver’s license for 1 year
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year
  • Alcohol screening, education, and treatment
  • No probation

The maximum sentence for a second or subsequent offense may include:

  • 180 days in jail
  • A $2500 fine
  • A revoked driver’s license for 1 year
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1 year
  • Alcohol screening, education, and treatment
  • 5 years probation

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know was charged with an Extreme DUI and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact Weintraub & Weintraub today.

The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. If you need strong legal representation, contact our firm today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Drunk Driving Accidents in Arizona
  •  Receiving Compensation in an Arizona Personal Injury Case
  •  Statute of Limitations for Personal Injuries in Arizona
  •  Slip & Fall Injuries in Arizona