DUI Arrests at Their Highest Between Thanksgiving Eve and New Year’s Weekend

DUI Arrests at Their Highest Between Thanksgiving Eve and New Year’s Weekend

Thanksgiving Weekend, and particularly Thanksgiving Eve begin one of the most frequent DUI weekends in the country. Rather obviously, it is both illegal and unsafe to drink and drive, however, this does not stop everyone from doing so. If you are arrested this Thanksgiving Weekend, you must read on and reach out to our experienced firm to learn more about how we can help you. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the penalties for DUIs in the state of Arizona:

What happens if I am charged with a DUI in Arizona?

Do not think you will be let off easy simply because this is only your first offense. In fact, you may lose your license, have high fines to pay, and obtain a criminal record that can potentially follow you for the rest of your life. Here are some of the penalties you may face for a DUI in the state of Arizona:

  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • Potential Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • A $2500 fine, plus additional surcharges
  • A $500 Prison Construction Fee
  • A $500 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • Up to a 1-year license suspension
  • More than one year of the Ignition Interlock Device

Will I lose my license forever for a second DUI in Arizona?

Fortunately, if this is your second DUI, you will most likely not lose your license forever. However, if your BAC is above .150% and .199%, you will receive upgraded charges, and if this is your third or subsequent offense, you run the risk of losing your license either for an extended period of time, or indefinitely. If you are facing a second DUI charge, it is very important you contact an experienced attorney as soon as you can. Here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • Up to 1 year of revoked driving privileges
  • More than 1 year of the Ignition Interlock Device
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A fine of $2500, plus surcharges
  • A $1250 Prison Construction Fee
  • A $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee

Contact our experienced Arizona firm

The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. Those injured due to another party’s negligence should never have to suffer alone. If you need strong legal representation, please do not hesitate to contact our firm today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts