What are the Consequences of an Underage DUI in the State of Arizona?

What are the Consequences of an Underage DUI in the State of Arizona?

One of the worst things that can go on your driving record is a DUI. A DUI may have a significant impact on your life, and potentially even the life of another motorist, if there were any injuries. If you are charged with an underage DUI in the state of Arizona, here are some of the questions you may have:

What are zero-tolerance laws?

Arizona has what is known as a zero-tolerance policy, which means that if you are under the age of 21 and have a blood alcohol content of 0.01 percent or higher, you may be charged with underage drinking and driving. Arizona is very strict when it comes to drinking and driving, so do not think you will get a “slap on the wrist” because of your age. 

What are the potential penalties for an underage DUI in Arizona?

This crime is generally considered a class one misdemeanor, which is quite a serious offense. Some of the consequences you may face for a first-offense underage DUI are as follows:

  • A loss of driving privileges for up to two years
  • Alcohol screening, treatment, and education
  • Fines and fees up to $500
  • Court-ordered community service

If you are charged with a second, third or subsequent offense, you may spend up to 30 days in jail, have to pay $500 in fees, and attend court-ordered substance abuse screening or treatment, as well as community service. 

What are some defenses against an underage DUI?

Fortunately, if you are charged with an underage DUI, there may still be a way to have your case dropped altogether. Some examples of DUI defenses are:

  • The law enforcement officer had no reasonable suspicion to conduct an investigative stop
  • The law enforcement officer did not have probable cause for an arrest
  • The breath testing device was inaccurate
  • The law enforcement officer violated your constitutional rights
  • The blood or breath sample was not obtained or analyzed properly
  • The accused was not driving at the time of the stop
  • The law enforcement officer improperly administered the field sobriety tests

If you have been charged with underage drinking and driving, you do not have time to wait–do yourself a favor and contact an experienced DUI attorney. Your life may be dramatically altered if you are convicted, so it is your responsibility to do whatever you can to minimize the damage of a potential DUI.

Contact our knowledgable Arizona firm

The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. If you need strong legal representation, contact our firm today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts