What is an Extreme DUI in Arizona?

What is an Extreme DUI in Arizona?

Everybody knows that it is both unsafe and illegal to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol, though many people still do it. We know this does not make you a bad person, however, if you are facing DUI charges, you are at risk of enduring some very serious consequences. That is why you must read on and hire an experienced Arizona DUI defense attorney who is ready to aggressively fight your charges. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I receive a first offense extreme DUI in Arizona?

If you are convicted of a first offense extreme DUI in Arizona, you will face the following penalties:

  • No more than 180 days in jail
  • You may lose your license for 1 year
  • More than one year of the mandatory use of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Mandatory alcohol screening and counseling
  • A $2,500 fine, plus additional surcharges
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • $1,000 Prison Construction Fee
  • $1,000 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • Potential 5 years of probation
  • Your vehicle may be impounded for up to 30 thirty days

What happens if I get a second extreme DUI in Arizona?

If you are charged with a second-offense extreme DUI, you can bet that the courts will now treat you as a repeat offender. The consequences for a second extreme DUI are as follows:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • A $2,500 fine
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • A $1,250 Prison Construction Fee
  • A $1,250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • A vehicle impoundment of thirty days
  • Up to 30 hours of community service
  • Mandatory alcohol screening and treatment
  • More than 1 year with the IID
  • Potentially five years of probation
  • A 1-year loss of license

What is a super extreme DUI in Arizona?

If you were arrested and were found to have a BAC that was .20% or higher, you will face the following consequences for a super extreme DUI:

  • Up to 180 days of imprisonment
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • A $2,500 fine, plus additional surcharges
  • $1,000 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • Potentially five years of probation
  • You may have your vehicle impounded for 30 days
  • You may lose your license for one year
  • More than 18 months with an Ignition Interlock Device
  • A $250 DUI Abatement Fee
  • A $1,000 Prison Construction Fee

If you are facing an extreme DUI charge of any kind, no matter your circumstances, Weintraub & Weintraub is here to help.

Contact our experienced Arizona firm

The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. Those injured due to another party’s negligence should never have to suffer alone. If you need strong legal representation, please do not hesitate to contact our firm today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What You Need to Know About Sidewalk Accidents in Arizona
  •  What You Should Know About Memorial Day DUIs in Arizona
  •  Prepping Your Pool For Memorial Day Weekend
  •  Tips For Bicycle Safety