What You Need to Know About Fourth of July DUIs in Arizona

What You Need to Know About Fourth of July DUIs in Arizona

The Fourth of July is a day where we celebrate and reflect on what it means to be an American. Unfortunately, there are also more DUIs on the Fourth of July than most other days in the year. If you have recently been charged with a DUI, please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Arizona DUI attorney to learn more about the penalties for DUIs and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DUI in Arizona?

Even if this is only your first DUI offense, you can expect to face far more than a “slap on the wrist.” Arizona courts take driving under the influence of alcohol very seriously, which is why if you have been charged, you need an aggressive attorney on your side. For a first-offense DUI, you can expect to face the following penalties:

  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • A potential 1-year license suspension
  • A $2,500 fine
  • Additional surcharges
  • A $500 Prison Construction Fee
  • A $500 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • At least one year of the Ignition Interlock Device, at your own cost
  • Potential Alcohol Screening and Counseling

Of course, these consequences alone are extremely serious and have long-lasting ramifications. However, you should note that if you arrested and you had a Blood Alcohol Content between .150% and .199%, you will most likely face escalated charges, which, unsurprisingly, come with even harsher penalties, which is why you simply cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of a knowledgeable Arizona DUI attorney.

What are the penalties for a second DUI in Arizona?

If this is your second or subsequent offense, you can expect to face an even harsher court system this time around. The penalties fora  second DUI in Arizona are as follows:

  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • 30 hours of community service
  • A $2,500 fine
  • Additional surcharges
  • A $1,250 Prison Construction Fee
  • A $1,250 Department of Public Safety Fee
  • Alcohol Screening and Counseling
  • 5 years maximum of probation
  • Potential 1-year license suspension
  • At least 1 year of the Ignition Interlock Device

If you have been charged with a DUI this Fourth of July, give our experienced Arizona DUI attorney a call today. Our firm can help fight your charges to have them mitigated, or, in some cases, dropped altogether.

Contact our experienced Arizona firm

The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. Those injured due to another party’s negligence should never have to suffer alone. If you need strong legal representation, please do not hesitate to contact our firm today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Can I Post on Social Media After a Car Accident?
  •  Should I Create a Pain, Symptom and Treatment Diary?
  •  Product Liability Lawsuits in Arizona | What to Know
  •  What to Bring to Your Initial Consultation With Our AZ Personal Injury Attorney