The Fourth of July is generally a day of celebration and fun. On the Fourth of July, we join our friends and family in barbecues, swimming pools, and other fun outdoor activities. However, it is no secret many people also drink a lot on the Fourth of July. If you are someone who plans to drink on the Fourth, it is imperative that you do not drive under the influence. Not only because the police will be out and about more than usual, but also to ensure everyone’s safety. Drinking and driving is a very dangerous decision, and you pose a serious risk to yourself and others if you choose to do so. However, if you find yourself in a situation where you are facing a DUI, you must remain calm and contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. If you are charged with a DUI in the state of Arizona, here are some questions you may have:
What is the first thing I should do when I am stopped for a DUI in Arizona?
- Respectfully ask to speak with an attorney at once
- Graciously give the officer your name, address, driver’s license, registration and proof of insurance
- Do not take any field sobriety tests
- Be polite and respectful throughout the interaction. Do not ask questions in an interrogatory manner
- Exercise your right to remain silent
- If you submit to an analysis of your blood, breath or urine, ask for your immediate release to obtain an independent test
What is a field sobriety test, and why should I refuse taking one?
If an officer suspects you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol, he will most likely ask you to step out of the vehicle. From there, he will initiate a series of tests that will help indicate your level of intoxication. Typically, there are three main tests an officer will administer: the One Leg Stand, the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, and the Walk and Turn test. The reason our firm suggests that you do not submit to any field sobriety test is because these tests are oftentimes inaccurate. However, if you refuse, you should know that in the state of Arizona, you may not refuse a chemical, breath or blood test to determine your blood alcohol content, or BAC. Refusing to submit to a chemical, breath or blood test may come with a 12 to 24-month suspension of your right to drive in Arizona.
What are the consequences of a first offense DUI in Arizona?
If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in the state of Arizona, the ramifications can be severe. Here are some of the penalties you may face if charged with a DUI:
- Up to 10 days in jail
- Alcohol screening and counseling
- A $250 fine, plus surcharges
- A $500 Department of Public Safety Fee
- A $500 Prison Construction Fee
- 90 days to 1 year of suspended driving privileges
- 6 to 12 months of an Ignition Interlock Device
- No probation
If you are facing a second or subsequent DUI, the penalties you face can be far more severe. You may spend up to 90 days in jail, have your license revoked, owe significantly more in fees, and have up to 30 hours of community service, to name a few.
Contact our experienced Arizona attorneys
The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. If you need strong legal representation, contact our firm today.