Halloween is a time of fun and celebration with friends and family. People wear costumes, go to Halloween parties, and enjoy the atmosphere only Halloween can bring. However, many people will attend Halloween parties where alcohol is being served. Though, of course, you are supposed to avoid drinking if you know you are going to drive, people make mistakes. If you are someone who was caught driving under the influence of alcohol, there is a very good chance you are now worried about the charges you may face. Fortunately, with the help of an effective legal team, you can have peace of mind knowing your rights are protected throughout the process. Here are some of the questions you may have about DUI laws in the state of Arizona:
What happens if I am convicted of a first-offense DUI in Arizona?
The state of Arizona takes DUI offenses extremely seriously, even if this is only your first offense. In other words, you can expect far more than a simple “slap on the wrist.” If this is your first DUI offense, you may face the following penalties:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Potential Alcohol Screening and Counseling
- A $2500 fine, plus additional surcharges
- A $500 Prison Construction Fee
- A $500 Department of Public Safety Fee
- Up to 5 years of probation
- Between 90 days and 1 year of suspended driving privileges
- More than one year of the installation and use of an Ignition Interlock Device
What are the penalties for a second or subsequent DUI offense in Arizona?
If this is your second DUI offense in the state of Arizona, you will most likely spend some time in jail without the assistance of an experienced attorney. Do not wait. You must reach out to our firm as soon as you can. We will aggressively fight your charges to have them reduced, or, in some cases, dropped altogether. Penalties for a second or subsequent DUI offense in Arizona are as follows:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Alcohol Screening and Counseling
- Up to 30 hours of community service
- A $2500 fine plus surcharges
- A $1250 Prison Construction Fee
- A $1250 Department of Public Safety Fee
- Up to 5 years probation
- Up to 1 year of revoked driving privileges
- More than 1 year of the installation and use of an Ignition Interlock Device
Contact our experienced Arizona firm
The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. Those injured due to another party’s negligence should never have to suffer alone. If you need strong legal representation, please do not hesitate to contact our firm today.