Every Labor Day, people travel all over the country to see their friends and family. It is generally accepted as the last hoorah of the summer, and for good reason–we have barbecues, cookouts, and more to celebrate the holiday. Many people drink on Labor Day as well, which is completely fine, as long as they are not driving. Unfortunately, although everybody knows it is wrong to drink and drive, people do not always stop themselves from doing so. Rather unsurprisingly, many accidents happen this way, often injuring unsuspecting, innocent motorists or bystanders. Thankfully, you can prevent all this by simply drinking responsibly. However, if you are pulled over, there is a very good chance you will be facing serious legal troubles that may impact the rest of your life. This is why you will need an experienced attorney to fight for your rights. If you have been pulled over for a DUI in the state of Arizona, here are some of the questions you may have:
What should I do if I am pulled over for a DUI in Arizona?
If you are pulled over for a DUI, there are several things you should keep in mind. First, you must always respectfully ask to speak with an attorney as soon as possible. Offer your name, address, license and registration, and proof of insurance. You should exercise your right to remain silent, and never ask questions in an interrogatory manner. Lastly, you should reject taking any field sobriety tests, and if you submit to an analysis of your urine, blood, or breath, you must ask for your immediate release to obtain an independent test.
Do I have to submit to a field sobriety test?
Fortunately, you do not have to take a field sobriety test. A field sobriety test will help an officer indicate whether or not you are intoxicated. The three main field sobriety tests are the One Leg Stand, the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, and the Walk and Turn test. However, these tests are oftentimes inaccurate, and may lead an officer to believe you are more impaired than you truly are. You should also know that when you are asked to take a chemical, breath or blood test, you cannot refuse. If you do, you may receive a 12 or 24-month license suspension.
What are the penalties for a first offense DUI in Arizona?
- Up to 10 days in jail
- Alcohol screening and counseling
- A $250 fine, plus surcharges
- A $500 Department of Public Safety Fee
- A $500 Prison Construction Fee
- 90 days to 1 year of suspended driving privileges
- 6 to 12 months of an Ignition Interlock Device
- No probation
Contact our experienced Arizona firm
The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. If you need strong legal representation, contact our firm today.