There are few offenses more damaging to a record than obtaining a DUI. Unfortunately, Labor Day is among the most common days for DUIs in Arizona. Of course, to prevent receiving a DUI, the best thing you can do is simply refrain from drinking if you plan on driving. Unfortunately, not everyone makes this decision, and if you are charged with a DUI in Arizona this year, you must continue reading and speak with an experienced Arizona DUI attorney to learn more about the potential consequences you DUI may bring and how we can assist you in fighting those consequences. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I get a DUI for the first time in Arizona?
Whether this is your first offense or not, you will most likely face very serious consequences. That being said, for a first offense DUI in Arizona, you will most likely face the following set of penalties:
- You may lose your license for one year
- You will most likely face a $2,500 fine, as well as additional surcharges
- 180 days in jail
- Five years of probation
- You will have to use the Ignition Interlock Device for one year
- You will have to receive alcohol screening and counseling
- You will also have to pay a $500 Prison Construction Fee, as well as a$500 Department of Public Safety Fee
That being said, these charges are strictly for individuals with a Blood Alcohol Content that is only slightly over .08%. If you are arrested and your BAC is between .150% and .199%, you will receive an extreme DUI, which will land you in even hotter water. Our firm can help, but you have to give us a call as soon as you can.
Will I go to jail for a second DUI in Arizona?
There is a very good chance that you will, in fact, go to jail for a second DUI–especially if you do not retain the services of an experienced Arizona DUI attorney. The consequences for a second Arizona DUI are as follows:
- You may go to jail for 180 days and have to perform 30 hours of community services
- You may face a $2,500 fine, as well as additional surcharges
- You will have to pay a $1,250 Prison Construction Fee, a $1,250 Department of Public Safety Fee, and you may have to attend Alcohol Screening and Counseling
- You may go on probation for 5 years
- You may lose your license for 1 year
- You may have to use the Ignition Interlock Device for one year
Contact our experienced Arizona firm
The legal team at Weintraub & Weintraub has years of experience representing clients who have been injured in accidents due to the negligence of others as well as those who are facing charges of driving under the influence. Those injured due to another party’s negligence should never have to suffer alone. If you need strong legal representation, please do not hesitate to contact our firm today.